Now We Wait

I had a positive ovulation test yesterday! First time ever! I called the doctor yesterday morning to let them know. They told us to come in today at 9am. 

We got to the office, checked in, and paid for the service. Insurance does not cover any of these procedures because they are not medically necessary so this trip cost us $250. 

Joe was taken back to give his sample. Then Joe and I waited in the waiting room for about 45 minutes while the sperm was washed. It usually only takes about 30 minutes but the sperm was not doing exactly what it was supposed to so they had to wash it a little longer. It must be washed to remove proteins that could be harmful if inserted into my cervix. The doctor said Joe’s sperm were in fair condition with fair mobility. 

Once it was washed, it was my turn. The doctor used a few tools to access my cervix and insert the sperm in with a catheter. It was uncomfortable and quite painful at times. There was some cramping during the procedure and after. I had to walk pretty slow for a while but we made it! The majority of the cramping has subsided. I’m just a little sleepy. Next, I will be going pick up my tasty meds to help me stay pregnant if I conceive. 

Overall, I think it was a success! 
And now we wait…

Leave a Reply

