A Year In The Making

Last night concluded my first year as a peer support group leader. I can’t believe a year has passed. There’s been a lot of stuff that’s happened over the last year. One of the things I’m most thankful for is my support group.

Starting a support group was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done. But it has paid off in a huge way. I’m so grateful for each and every lady that has decided to put themselves out there. Attending a meeting or talking with me via text takes guts. I think it’s safe to say that each and every lady I’ve met because of infertility was scared or nervous to reach out. Many of them shared their fears after attending a meeting. They were so nervous and had no idea what to expect but they came anyway. I’m so very glad they did.

I have enjoyed preparing material, running meetings, and supporting these ladies. I even love all the clerical things I get to do. But most of all, through all of it, I feel supported too. Being surrounded by other ladies who understand what I’m going through is amazing.

Bring your brokenness, and I’ll bring mine
‘Cause love can heal what hurt divides

-Francesca Battistelli, If We’re Honest

These lyrics are so true. Each meeting, each individual brings their brokenness. It brings us together. It allows us to relate to each other and bond. No one wants to go through hard stuff. But if I’m going through it, I’m so happy I don’t have to feel like I’m doing it alone. We are able to cry together about the stuff the hurts and believe it or not, there’s a lot of laughter! We are able to laugh about stuff with each other that other people in our lives aren’t sure if they can laugh at. It’s refreshing.

Stepping out of your comfort zone is scary. But you should try it. It can be pretty amazing. I’ve met some awesome people along the way. You might too. I can’t stress enough that you don’t have to do the hard stuff alone. I think it seems easier for most people to bury their emotions deep down and not let them out. It’s scary when people see you vulnerable. But there are people out there who understand your hurt and there is SO much value in that.

I think it takes strength and courage to take a shit situation and make something beautiful out of it. I know lots of ladies who are doing just that. It makes me proud to know them.

Bring the good out of the bad
There’s an awful lot of beauty in that

-The Band Perry, Gonna Be Okay

 

Leave a Reply

