Mint Chocolates

I’ve always thought that being so emotional and sensitive was a weakness. When you are that way, you forgive easily and leave your heart available to be hurt over and over again.

I don’t believe these things are a weakness anymore. I view them as strengths. I allow myself to be hurt but I easily open back up to people who once held a place in my heart. I don’t let go of people easily. I forgive quickly. I love with every fiber of my being.

Those that are close to be rarely have to guess how I’m feeling because I physically cannot hold it in. Sometimes that may be overwhelming for those around me but for the most part I think those that love me appreciate it. They know that I feel everything deeply and that’s part of why they love me.

I received some mint chocolates from a friend as part of my birthday gift. They had been in my car for a bit too long and had melted. I took them in my house with me and later on went to unwrap one only to find that the chocolate had hardened to the wrapper making them difficult to unwrap. I struggled to open each one. Each one fought a little as I took it out and a piece broke off here and there. Each chocolate had a different shape. But I found that when I ate the chocolate, it tasted better than it did pre melt down.

I’d like to think that relationships can work this way too. There are things we go through that make us melt into a pile. But over time, we gain our strength back and are able to come back better than before. Gaining strength can be painful but there is hope on the other side.

Many times, the idea we have in our head is the only one we can see. Then that holds us back from what could be. Just because things don’t go the way we think they should, doesn’t mean the end result can’t be better than we ever imagined.

I met with a friend this weekend not knowing what the end result would be. We hadn’t seen each other in a long time. But I went in with as little expectation as I could and the end result was better than I could have ever hoped for. It’s hard to not have expectations but when you don’t, you often are pleasantly surprised with the outcome. It was so good to see her again and it seemed as though no time had passed. I’ve been told, when going through hard stuff with people, time apart may be the right choice. If the relationship is solid, it will be there after you make it through the storm. I do believe this to be true.

Today I have hope for my future. I feel encouraged. I feel remembered. I feel loved.

For those of you that continue to fight for me, thank you. Your strength, courage, and bravery do not go unnoticed. You are amazing.

Leave a Reply

